20/5/1985 New Order of mince on toast

20_5

Monday always means back to work and the 20th May 1985 could find no other meaning. Pip collected me after work and we motored out to Milton to a La Bamba meeting in the early evening. As I read on I shall adapt that to read, “a short La Bamba meeting…”.

I felt the need to report that the maximum temperature that day was 17 – quite Brisbane cool and that the antidote I had conjured up was savoury mince on toast for dinner. Quite predictable of course, comfort food when the temp drops.

I only reported one other piece of news on this day 27 years ago, and it looms large as a portent of disaster – the arrival of a Myer Card! Had I been urbane and cool, I would have been at Easts Rugby League Club in Stones Corner on this night for New Order, supported by Lets Go Naked and Lovs e Blur. Thats where all the cool kids wold have been – not at home whipping up mince on toast and staring at a credit card. Geesh – wake up to myself!

Leave a Reply

