29/6/1985 Sex, Leisure and Flowers

29-6

Just another Saturday in 1985, June 29 had me still afflicted with a viral something or other, but my diary reports that I struggled into work, only just making it to the 12:30pm close. Must have staged a moderate recovery though – dropped in at Pip’s place for coffee afterwards. This was enabled by the fact that I had Buffy Lavery’s car while she was away in Sydney.

Spent the afternoon knocking up a quaint article for The Cane Toad Times: Sex, Leisure and Technology edition, which was slated for Spring release. I read this now and I really am amazed at the pace of change. In 1985, 7-11’s were shiny new things and laminated video library cards were cutting edge… 

Scanned_image_3

Spent the evening with Pip at Dorchester St watching Paul Cox’s, Man of Flowers, which I still like – it had Norman Kaye in the lead role.

Man_of_flowers_videocover

Leave a Reply

